International ACS NSQIP Scholarships 2012

The American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (ACS NSQIP) offers International ACS NSQIP Scholarships for two surgeons from countries other than the United States or Canada who demonstrate strong interests in surgical quality improvement. The scholarships, in the amount of $10,000 each, provide the Scholars with an opportunity to attend the 2012 ACS NSQIP National Conference July 21-24 in Salt Lake City, Utah, and meet with Program Leadership and Surgeon Champions from ACS NSQIP participating hospitals. Following the NSQIP conference, the candidate is encouraged to visit 1-2 hospitals reflecting the candidate’s specific clinical interests.  These hospitals should also have strong quality programs.

The scholarship requirements are:

  • Applicants must be graduates of schools of medicine.
  • Applicants must submit their applications from their intended permanent institution. Applications will be accepted for processing only when the applicants have been in surgical practice, teaching, or research for a minimum of one year at their intended permanent location, following completion of all formal training (including fellowships and scholarships).
  • Applicants must be under 55 years of age at the time of application.
  • Applicants must have demonstrated a commitment to surgical quality improvement.
  • Applicants must submit a fully completed application form provided by the College on its Web site. The application and accompanying materials must be typewritten and in English. Submission of a curriculum vitae only is not acceptable.
  • Applicants must provide information regarding their work setting, including their hospital and the patients they see, as well as their participation in quality improvement activities in this setting. They must also indicate their career goals, indicating how they plan to transfer their newly-acquired learning to their current situation.
  • Applicants must submit letters of recommendation from three of their colleagues. One letter must be from the chair of the department of their hospital or in which they hold academic appointment, or a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons residing in their country. The chair’s or the Fellow’s letter is to include a specific statement detailing the nature and extent of the quality improvement involvement of the applicant. Letters of recommendation should be submitted separately by the recommenders.
  • Applicants are required to submit a curriculum vitae of no more than 10 pages.
  • The International ACS NSQIP Scholarships must be used in the year for which they are designated. They cannot be postponed.
  • Applicants who are awarded scholarships will submit a full written report of the experiences provided through the scholarships upon completion of their scholarships.
  • An unsuccessful applicant may reapply only twice and only by completing and submitting a current application form provided by the College, together with new supporting documentation.

The scholarships provide successful applicants with the privilege of participating in the ACS NSQIP National Conference.  Assistance will be provided in arranging hotel accommodations in the conference city.

More information regarding the ACS National Surgical Quality Improvement Program can be found at

In order to qualify for consideration by the selection committee, all of the requirements must be fulfilled. The formal International ACS NSQIP Scholar application appears on the ACS Scholarships Web page. Supporting materials and questions should be directed to:

Administrator? International Liaison Section?
American College of Surgeons
?633 N. Saint Clair St. ?Chicago, IL 60611-3211? USA
? Fax: 312-202-5021

Completed applications for the International ACS NSQIP Scholarships for the year 2012 and all of the supporting documentation must be received by the International Liaison Section prior to May 1, 2012, in order for an applicant to receive consideration by the selection committee. All applicants will be notified of the selection committee’s decision by May 31, 2012.